Jackson Health System ASP : Meet our Team

Meet our Team

Lilian Abbo, MD
Chief Infection Prevention & Control and Antimicrobial Stewardship Jackson Health System
Associate Professor of Clinical Medicine in the Division of Infectious Diseases at the University of Miami, Miller School of Medicine and Core Faculty of the Infectious Diseases team for the Miami Transplant Institute

Dr. Abbo received her Medical degree (MD) from the Universidad Central de Venezuela, Caracas, Venezuela. She completed an internal medicine internship at Jacobi Medical Center, Bronx NY and a residency in internal medicine at Mount Sinai Medical Center, Miami Beach, Florida and a fellowship in Infectious Diseases (ID) at Jackson Memorial Hospital (JMH) and the University of Miami (UM). Dr. Abbo has been the Medical Director for the Antimicrobial Stewardship Program at Jackson Health System since 2008. From 2011-2015 also served as the Medical Director of the Antimicrobial Stewardship for the University of Miami Health System and 2014-2016 served as Associate Chief for Patient Safety and Quality Officer for UHealth.

Laura Aragon, PharmD, BCPS (AQ-ID)
Infectious Diseases Clinical Pharmacist, Jackson Memorial Hospital

Dr. Aragon received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree at the University of Missouri-Kansas City. She completed post-doctoral training at Shands at the University of Florida in Gainesville, Florida specializing in ID. Dr. Aragon began working at JMH in 2007 and assists with optimization of antibiotic therapy of hospitalized patients. She is the co-director of the JHS Antimicrobial Stewardship Program with a focus of developing clinical, educational, and research initiatives for physicians, pharmacists, and nurses. Dr. Aragon serves as the director of the JMH ID pharmacy residency, is a voluntary assistant professor for the University of Miami Department of Medicine, and holds adjunct faculty positions at the University of Florida, Florida A&M University, and Nova Southeastern University.
Email: lsmith5@jhsmiami.org